About UTM

University of Technology,

Learn about our History

The University of Technology, Mauritius (UTM) was created in year 2000 with the merging of the Mauritius Institute of Public Administration and Management (MIPAM) and the SITRAC Ltd.
This historic step in the field of higher education was prompted mainly by the need to cater more vigorously for the increasing demand for ICT and Management Professionals in a country committed to accelerate the realization of its ambition to become a major service provider in the field of Information Technology, Management, Finance, Sustainable Development and other related fields. 
The University of Technology, Mauritius operates under the aegis of the Ministry of Education and is governed by the provisions of the UTM Act 2000.

Learn about our History

Functions and Objectives of UTM

Provide multi-level tertiary education including continuing professional education, in such disciplines as it thinks appropriate to meet the needs of Mauritius, with emphasis on technology, sustainable development science and public sector policy and management, while making provision for the recognition of prior learning and flexibility of transition between programmes.

Foster and encourage the advancement and development of knowledge and skills, and their application to research and other means, through industry, the services sector, commerce and the public sector.

Provide research, development, consultancy and other services for industrial or commercial organisations, public bodies or individuals.

Exploit commercially for its benefit the services and resources of the University of Technology.

Serve as a centre for fostering co-operation, partnership and exchange of ideas between the academic community on the one hand and the public and private sectors on the other.

Promote entrepreneurship and a complete education amongst students

Give a regional and international dimension to its teaching, research, consultancy, development, service and other activities.

Develop into an institution of excellence in teaching, training, scholarship, research, consultancy, service and other services and products, with emphasis in its areas of operation.

List of Memorandum of Understanding/Agreement

  • Memorandum of Agreement between Institution of Engineers (Mauritius) and University of Technology, Mauritius
  • Memorandum of Agreement between The University of Technology, Mauritius and Team SYNthesis (Mauritius & Africa) Ltd
  • MoU Polytechnics Mauritius Ltd (PML) and UTM
  • Agreement between Cellplus Mobile Communications Ltd
  • MoU with Ceridian Mauritius Ltd
  • MoU with Parallels Mauritius Ltd, a company of the Alludo Group
  • The Raj H. Prayag Award and Gold Medal
  • MoU with Academy of Design and Innovation (ADI)
  • MoU with SCOTT Health Ltd
  • Agreement with Standard Bank Mauritius Ltd
  • Agreement with Civil Service College Mauritius (CSCM)
  • MoA with Currimjee Jeewanjee & Co. Ltd
  • MoU with Objectivity Software Services Ltd (Objectivity Mauritius)
  • MoU with Biosante Medical Laboratories
  • Accord-cadre de Coopération entre UTM et La Commission de L’Océan Indien (COI)
  • MoU between UTM and Mauritian Software Testing Qualifications Board
  • Erasmus Programme Inter-Institutional Agreement
  • MoU with Monash University
  • MoU with CSIBER (Chhatrapati Shahu Institute of Business Education and Research, India)
  • MoU with Zhejiang Sci-Tech University, China (ZSTU)
  • MoU with University of Portsmouth
  • MoU with Madison Area Technical College
  • Accord-cadre de coopération entre L’Université de la Réunion et L’Université de Technologie de Maurice
  • MoU with University of Pretoria, Republic of South Africa

UTM Logo - The Anatomy

Academic Structure

The UTM presently comprises of four schools

School of Business,
Management and Finance
School of Sustainable
Development and Tourism
School of Innovative
Technologies and Engineering
School of Health